Skip to content

Small group of students cause a riot at fees demo

November 10, 2010

I’m not sure I see that university education is a right. We get a free education in this country up until we leave college, where upon we are considered adults. At that point we have the choice to go and earn money, or to delay earning money to pursue a higher education. Or as many people do, we can do both at the same time… it is possible to work 3-4 days a week and go to uni, but most people would rather party and have fun. Some of my other friends took one or two years out to save for university but the norm has become that on leaving college people take one or two years out to travel the world and instead of saving money they spend money while they work out what they want to do with their lives.

I’m not at all happy that there are going to be education cuts, but at the same time, if you work and invest in your future then you will be rewarded. When I went to uni the number that finished the course was about a quarter of the number that started it – of all the people I knew that dropped out, the reasoning was either that they didn’t like living away from home or that the course was too difficult or wasn’t quite what they thought it would be… it was very rarely about the money. University is a commitment. You shouldn’t enter into it lightly but only if you are confident that you will make the most of every penny you spend on it. People don’t care when it’s the government’s money they are spending, when it’s their own you would hope that everyone with a degree will put it to good use and easily earn back the extra money it has cost them.

Perhaps mine is an idealistic view, but I didn’t go to uni to have a laugh or because I didn’t know what I wanted to be when I grew up, I went because I wanted to continue learning and get myself my dream job which I’m definitely on the road to getting now.

From → Rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

